Ask A Question

Notifications

You’re not receiving notifications from this thread.

Realtime Online User Tracking with ActionCable Discussion

How would you limit those users by tenant ( account)? Would you make the data sent to redis an array of two integers, like [1, 2] where 1 is the account.id and 2 is the user.id? Or is there a simpler way to approach this?

Hi Matt,
what about setting a different key per tenant ?

ActionCable.server.pubsub.redis_connection_for_subscriptions.sadd(
        "online_users_account#{account.id}", current_user.id)

As I was facing another (but I think related) issue, storing apperance for multiple models, I store a key per model and each one has its own array.

Thanks Nathan,
I was thinking something like that as well, but I'm pretty new to how ActionCable works so am stumbling through this a bit... Good to know that I had thought through this in a decent way despite not knowing how to implement this. Do you think that it'd be good to add something to connection.rb to deal with multitenancy and whethere 'current_account' is set?

Hi,
I never worked with multy tenancy and I'm also quite new to ActionCable
so I don't really know, but my guess is you could pass an array to identified_by and identify by both current_user and current_tenant.
Then set current_tenant or reject connection if none is found.
I did some testing and the following make the current_tenant variable availble in all channels and seems to work fine.

module ApplicationCable
  class Connection < ActionCable::Connection::Base
    identified_by :current_user, :current_tenant

def connect
      self.current_user = find_verified_user
      self.current_tenant = find_tenant
      logger.add_tags "ActionCable", "#{current_user.class.name} #{current_user.id}"
    end

protected

def find_verified_user
      # some logic to find the user
    end

def find_tenant
      # just an example
      if user.tenant.present?
        user.tenant
      else